Ohio State nav bar

Members of the 2023 Ohio State University Marching Band Selected

August 15, 2023

Members of the 2023 Ohio State University Marching Band Selected

Band member holding a trumpet

Following a five-day tryout process, the band’s 246 newest members heard their names read aloud in the rehearsal hall of the Steinbrenner Band Center. That total includes the band’s 228 music-playing members, the six members of D Row — the drum major training row — and 12 student staff members. More than 370 students tried out for the band this year.

The tryout process began on Thursday when the band’s 35 performing squad leaders — who are chosen for those positions by their peers in the off-season — officially earned their position in the band with a music and marching audition.

On Friday and Saturday, potential first-time members of the band took part in Candidate Days where they learned the band’s unique marching style to prepare for the full, scored tryout process.

On Sunday and Monday, those potential first-year candidates joined the band’s veterans for two days of scored tryouts. Candidates were scored on their music abilities during a Sunday-morning session and then had four scored marching sessions combined on Sunday and Monday.

All students in the marching band, including returning members, must earn their spot each season. Veterans are not guaranteed a spot in the band on a year-to-year basis.

Members of the 2023 band come from 18 states: Arkansas, California, Connecticut, Florida, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Michigan, Missouri, Minnesota, New Jersey, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, Washington and Wisconsin.

For the second time in as many years, the band will include sixth-year students in 2023. Students have only been allowed five years of eligibility since the 1970s, but anyone who made the band in 2020 did not have that season count toward their five-year total. Sixth-year members in 2022 will be Noah Bungart, Ryan Harris, Isaiah Partridge, Justin Monroe, Zach Irwin and Evan Phillip.

Members of the 2023 Ohio State University Marching Band are as follows:

Represents first year members

Squad Leader: Jordan Bechtol

Assistant Squad Leader: Kevin Agyekum

Bobby Petty

Robbie McCutcheon

Joshua Dunkerson

Bryan Hobson Jr

Kyle Macatangay

Nick Schnitzspahn

Henry Kochensparger

Logan Henry

Spencer Hurt

Andrew Olszewski

Matthew Finney

Connor Caviness



Squad Leader: Julia Moxley

Assistant Squad Leader: Blake Hassay

Kylie Hicks

Ann Stallsmith

Favius Pena-Amaya

Will Fisher

Dillon Portz

Luke Atkins

Diego Leon

Madison Bricker

Sofia Barragan

Eric Pattison

Joel Kellar

Carson Forquer



Squad Leader: Nathan Hochstetler

Assistant Squad Leader: Jackson Chapman

William Gilicinski

Payton Greulich

Dylan Daugherty

Noah Bungart

Mia Craigo

Matthew Gerstner

Samuel Baker

Nathan Asbury

Owen Hennessey

Kyle Short

Colleen Hutchinson

Olivia Truocchio



Drum Major: Clayton Callender

Assistant Drum Major: Joshua Ford

Nicky Buday

Jaikob Long

Jacob Cline

Miriam Joseph



Squad Leader: Crosbee Lisser

Assistant Squad Leader: Chris White

Nicholas Blum

Ray Johnson

Zach Thompson

Caleb Austin

Makenna Hack

Abigail Burger

Samantha Steinhauser

Emma Brunswick

Will McAuley

Mirai Nawa

Cary Kullenberg

Megan Thompson



Squad Leader: Hikari Nawa

Assistant Squad Leader: Griffin Heintz

Owen Kovach

Alex Myers

Mathew Wheeler

Nathan Greenberg

Michael Herring

Nickolas Olney

Charlotte Stefani

Amanda Kazsmer

Reese Hiller Freund

Hayden Hostetler

Brianna Heath

Andric McNabb



Squad Leader: Jacob Carlson

Assistant Squad Leader: Andrew Scott

Andrew Eynon

Jaykuhn Song

Elliot Luman

Ayden Casa

Clayton Messinger

Carter Greenlees

Nicholas Gilicinski

Dominic Barnes

Zach Ferko

Trevor Paul

Willow Mauldin

Sayaka Iimura



Squad Leader: Ryan Harris

Assistant Squad Leader: Justin Williams

Richard Kelly

Cameron Dhume

Ethan Strohacker

Will Terrell

Isaiah Partridge

Thomas Agre

Payton Yaffe

Brendan Barcus

Nathaniel Criss

Faris Matus

Grant Thieding

Nicholas Piccone



Squad Leader: Caleb Richardson

Assistant Squad Leader: Abby Dickman

Assistant Squad Leader: Andrew Haines

Owen Morris

Joseph Speidel

Jason Shuman

Jared Yoder

Justin Monroe

Alex Burlison

Thomas Giles

Jillian Kumfer

Emily Harbison

Grayson Niemi

Samantha Manning

Zarek Ahmed

Adam Quinn

Michaela Strunck

Ray Bertke



Squad Leader: Zach de Mesa

Assistant Squad Leader: Cameron Reinbolt

Kelly Scott

Brody Hyre

Robert Gawdyda

Sam George

Nick Pisanelli

Mike Sterling

Ryan Schoeff

Matthew Sliwinski

Joseph Orr

Sydney Reeves

Mitchell Ewaska

Evan Kvach



Squad Leader: Isabel Slaven

Assistant Squad Leader: Andrew Moulas

Brayden Hyder

Zach Irwin

Ryan Ouimet

Conner Click

Sean Bauman

Andrew Boden

Carter Tull

Connor Croley

Max Cogswell

Jacob Blevins

Wyatt Smith

Michael Bacasa



Squad Leader: Julia Stoffiere

Assistant Squad Leader: Grace Bittence

Bradley Sutton

Selin Timur

Leo Lipker

Hannah Lyons

Jacob English

Davis Aho

Alex Ruble

Jake Radcliffe

Nathan Howe

Aidan Pukansky

Isabel Burgos

Justin Planck



Squad Leader: Matthew Lerner

Assistant Squad Leader: Olivia Carruthers

Jack Feds

Tristan Miller

Lucia Cherok

Matthew Pugh

Eric Oxsalida

Katie Moore

Seth Lawhon

Callum Murphy

Carson Dickey

Joey Wyler

Abigail Miller

Amara Suchy




Squad Leader: Olivia Spradlin

Assistant Squad Leader: Olivia Sexton

Colin Kovinchick

Lydia VanVleet

Noah Krupa

Julia Jenkins

Kellen Horvath

Adeline Harper

Sarah Jones

Corbin Russ

Keri Stout

Nathan Savino

Alex Mazik

Grant Darnell



Squad Leader: Nick Denino

Assistant Squad Leader: Matthew Curie

Andrew Scherley

Shane Pritchard

Jeremy Bogen

Ethan Kelly

Quentin Bouanna

Ethan Rose

Carter Smyke

Alexander Schroeder

Brady Phillips

Kenneth Shafer

Caleb (Austin) Smith

Paige Pawlikowski


Student Staff

Squad Leader: Sidney Apel

Assistant Squad Leader: Lucas Snouffer

Lauren Lewis

Madison DiCicco

Ashley Watkins

Arianna Kelawala

Bradley Nicely

Grace Reven

William Weisenburger

Jocelyn Swan

Hannah Eggenschwiler

Matthew Son



Squad Leader: Ben Dollenmayer

Assistant Squad Leader: Jenna Chance

Nic Miller

Max Hathaway

Alex Tuma

Jacob Hofer

Stephen Gerstner

Bryce Morgensen

Will Altman

Tommy Kasarcik

Carolyn Hensley

Autumn Derosette

William Garvey

Everett Herald



Squad Leader: Evan Philipp

Assistant Squad Leader: Brenna Kitchen

Ian Bruns

Zach Heffner

Noah Ketcham

AJ Alexander

Alessandro Nocera

Brandon Jiang

Connor McMullen

Abbey Zunic

Mark Michalke

Ella Wielinski

Nathaniel Bell

Jonathan Levene